Sanatan Cultural Society

Sanatana Dharma – The Eternal Truth

Navratri 2015

Leave a comment

2015 Vasanta Navratri

Vasanta Navratri is nine days festivity which starts on the first day of Hindu Luni-Solar calendar and falls in the month of March or April. Chaitra is the first month of Hindu lunar calendar and because of it Vasanta Navratri is also known as Chaitra Navratri. Rama Navami the birthday of Lord Rama usually falls on the ninth day during Navratri festivity. Hence Vasanta Navratri is also known as Rama Navratri.

All nine days during Navratri are dedicated to nine forms of Goddess Shakti. Rama Navratri is more popular in northern India and most customs and rituals followed during Shardiya Navratri, which falls in the month of September or October, are also followed during Chaitra Navratri.

Navratri, the word is formed using two words ‘Nava’ and ‘Ratri’. Nava means nine and Ratri means nights hence Navratri literally means nine nights. During the festival of Navratri, Maa Durga is worshipped and revered in Her various forms for ten days and nine nights. In 2015 the Navratri Festival will be celebrated from 20th March to 28th March 2015.

The nine manifestations of Goddess Durga are worshipped each day of Navratri these incarnations are Goddess Shailputri, Brahmcharni, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri. Worshipping the nine Goddess is the primary ritual of any Navratri Puja.

  • First 3 days (1st– 3rd day of Navratri): The first three days of the nine days are dedicated to Goddess Durga, the Goddess of power, on the first day barley seeds are sown in a mud pot and the pot is kept on the Puja Altar.
    • Second 3 days (4th – 6th day of Navratri): The second three days of the nine days are dedicated to Goddess Laxmi, the Goddess of wealth and prosperity.
    • Third 3 days (7th – 9th day of Navratri): The next three days of the nine days are dedicated to Goddess Saraswati, the Goddess of knowledge and learning


Navratri Day 1



Shailputri Puja

Panchang for Ghatasthapana Day 1

20th March 2015 (Friday)


Navratri Day 2


Chandra Darshan

Sindhara Dooj

Brahmacharini Puja

Panchang for Chandra Darshan Day 2

21st March 2015 (Saturday)


Navratri Day 3


Gauri Teej

Saubhagya Teej

Chandraghanta Puja

Panchang for Gauri Teej Day 3

22nd March 2015



Navratri Day 4


Kushmanda Puja

Varad Vinayaka Chauth

Panchang for Kushmanda Puja Day 4

23rd March 2015 (Monday)


Navratri Day 5


Naag Puja

Lakshmi Panchami

Skandamata Puja

Panchang for Naag Puja Day 5

24th March 2015 (Tuesday)


Navratri Day 6


Skanda Sashti

Yamuna Chhath

Katyayani Puja

Panchang for Skanda Sashti Day 6

25th March 2015 (Wednesday)


Navratri Day 7


Maha Saptami

Kalaratri Puja

Panchang for Maha Saptami Day 7

26th March 2015 (Thursday)


Navratri Day 8


Durga Ashtami

Mahagauri Puja

Annapurna Ashtami

Sandhi Puja

Panchang for Durga Ashtami Day 8

27th March 2015 (Friday)


Navratri Day 9


Rama Navami

Panchang for Rama Navami Day 9

28th March 2015 (Saturday)


Navratri Day 10

Navratri Parana

Panchang for Navratri Parana Day 10

29th March 2015 (Sunday)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s